Call for Entries

Application
for Artist
in Residence

The application procedure for 2022 is closed. The call for entries 2023 will be published in the coming weeks.

Since 2021, the Fondazione Internazionale per la Scultura awards five scholarships to artists who are active in the field of three-dimensional art. Each scholarship includes: a six-month stay (from the beginning of May to the end of October) and a monthly allowance of CHF 1500. Each artist benefits from a private atelier where she/he can work and create, as well as a shared workstation equipped with a 20-tonne crane. Three workshops equipped for working with various materials such as stone (marble), wood and metal, etc. are also made available. Each artist receives a small apartment in the Casa degli Artisti located in the centre of the village of Peccia, just a few minutes from the Centro Internazionale di Scultura.

Working in Peccia

The Foundation provides each artist with an Atelier and a large outdoor workstation with a 20-tonne crane for their work, for common use. Three workshops with professional equipment, machinery and tools for working with stone, wood and metal are also attached.

The workshops are structured as autonomous working units. In accordance with the Foundation's aims, the priority work is marble from Peccia. Obviously there is the possibility of using other types of stone or materials such as wood, metal, plaster, clay, paper, etc. However, no further assistance or labour is provided.

In exceptional cases and with the consent of the President of the Artistic Committee and the Foundation's management, the artists may involve external labour, but at their own expense.

Artists make themselves available to visitors and sponsors within the framework of pre-arranged visits. By doing so, they indirectly support the Foundation's and the Centre's fundraising efforts.

At the end of their stay, each artist is asked to donate one of their works to the Foundation. The choice is made in agreement with the Commission of the Artistic Committee.

Life in Peccia

Every artist is given the opportunity to live in a studio inside the Casa degli Artisti in Peccia, just a few metres from the Centro. There are five units in this house. Each unit has its own shower/wc and a small kitchenette. A large kitchen is available for common use. Food costs are not covered by the Foundation.

The Foundation grants additional financial support of 9,000 francs (until 05/2020) to each scholarship holder. Payment is made in monthly instalments, at the beginning of each month, the first at the beginning of May of the year in which the scholarship is granted (6 x 1,500.-fr, paid in 6 x 1,200.-fr and at the end, at the time of departure, the remaining 1,800.-fr are paid, provided there are no demands from the FIS). Scholarship holders are responsible for their own daily expenses.

The Foundation will also cover the costs of materials (up to a maximum amount of 3,000 fr. per scholarship) and the transport of the works realised in Peccia (up to a maximum amount of 2,000 fr. per scholarship).

In principle, grant-holders must bear their travel expenses in full. In very exceptional cases, and once a grant has been awarded, the Foundation may, on written and reasoned request, agree to cover part of the travel expenses.

Call for Entries

Bewerbung
als Artist
in Residence

Das Bewerbungsverfahren für das Jahr 2022 ist abgeschlossen. Der Aufruf zur Einreichung von Bewerbungen für das Jahr 2023 wir in den nächsten Wochen veröffentlicht.

Seit 2021 vergibt die Fondazione Internazionale per la Scultura fünf Stipendien an Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die im Bereich der dreidimensionalen Kunst tätig sind. Jedes Stipendium umfasst einen sechsmonatigen Aufenthalt (von Anfang Mai bis Ende Oktober) und ein monatliches Stipendium von CHF 1500. Jede/r Künstler/in verfügt über ein privates Atelier, in dem sie/er arbeiten und schaffen kann, sowie über einen gemeinsamen Arbeitsplatz, der mit einem 20-Tonnen-Kran ausgestattet ist. Drei Werkstätten, die für die Arbeit mit verschiedenen Materialien wie Stein (Marmor), Holz, Metall usw. ausgestattet sind, werden ebenfalls zur Verfügung gestellt. Jeder Künstler erhält eine kleine Wohnung in der Casa degli Artisti im Zentrum des Dorfes Peccia, nur wenige Minuten vom Centro Internazionale di Scultura entfernt.

Arbeiten in Peccia

Die Fondazione stellt jedem Künstler ein Atelier und einen großen Außenarbeitsplatz mit einem 20-Tonnen-Kran für seine Arbeit zur Verfügung, der gemeinsam genutzt wird. Drei Werkstätten mit professionellen Geräten, Maschinen und Werkzeugen für die Bearbeitung von Stein, Holz und Metall sind ebenfalls angeschlossen.

Die Workshops sind als autonome Arbeitseinheiten aufgebaut. Im Einklang mit den Zielen der Stiftung soll vorrangig mit Peccia Marmor gearbeitet werden. Natürlich besteht auch die Möglichkeit, andere Steinarten oder Materialien wie Holz, Metall, Gips, Ton, Papier usw. zu verwenden. Es wird jedoch keine weitere Hilfe oder Arbeit angeboten.

In Ausnahmefällen und mit Zustimmung des Vorsitzenden des künstlerischen Komitees und des Stiftungsrates können die Künstler auf eigene Kosten externe Mitarbeiter hinzuziehen.

Die Künstler stehen Besuchern und Sponsoren im Rahmen von vorher vereinbarten Besuchen zur Verfügung. Auf diese Weise unterstützen sie indirekt die Bemühungen der Stiftung und des Zentrums um die Mittelbeschaffung.

Am Ende ihres Aufenthalts wird jeder Künstler gebeten, der Stiftung eines seiner Werke zu spenden. Die Auswahl erfolgt im Einvernehmen mit der Kommission des künstlerischen Komitees.

Leben in Peccia

Jeder Künstler wohnt in einem Atelier in der Casa degli Artisti in Peccia, nur wenige Meter vom Zentrum entfernt. Jedes Studio ist mit einem eigenen Bad und einer Kochnische ausgestattet. Eine große Küche steht zur gemeinsamen Nutzung zur Verfügung. Die Verpflegungskosten werden nicht von der Stiftung übernommen.

Die Stiftung gewährt jedem Stipendiaten eine zusätzliche finanzielle Unterstützung von 9'000 Fr. (bis 05/2020). Die Auszahlung erfolgt in monatlichen Raten zu Beginn eines jeden Monats, die erste Anfang Mai des Jahres, in dem das Stipendium gewährt wird (6 x 1.500,-fr, die in 6 x 1.200,-fr ausgezahlt werden, und am Ende, zum Zeitpunkt der Abreise, werden die restlichen 1.800,-fr ausgezahlt, vorausgesetzt, es liegen keine Anträge des FIS vor).

Die Stiftung übernimmt die Kosten für das Material (bis maximal 3'000 Fr. pro Stipendium) und den Transport der Werke nach Peccia (bis maximal 2'000 Fr. pro Stipendium).

Im Prinzip müssen die Künstler ihre Reisekosten in voller Höhe selbst tragen. In ganz außergewöhnlichen Fällen und nach Gewährung einer Finanzhilfe kann die Stiftung auf schriftlichen und begründeten Antrag einen Teil der Reisekosten übernehmen.